By Mark Peifer, USA Pickleball Certified Referee; Past Chairman, USA Pickleball Rules Committee
Question: I was playing at my local park and hit a ball that struck the top white tape (binding) of the net and then went through the net. Upon closer inspection, we noticed that the stitching attaching the tape to the net itself had come undone for about 12 inches. Should this result in a replay, or do I lose the rally?
Answer: This situation isn’t explicitly addressed in the Rulebook, so we turn to the guidance in Section 1: The Players. The fourth bullet point in that section states:
“Players strive to cooperate when confronted with a situation not covered by the Rulebook.”
This implies that when an unusual or ambiguous situation arises—like a ball going through a damaged net—the players should work together to reach a fair resolution. The Rulebook suggests possible outcomes in such cases may include either replaying the point or letting the rally stand. To be clear, this wasn’t a visible hole in the net.
In your case, there was clearly a net malfunction: one purpose of the stitching is to prevent the ball from going through the top of the net. Had the net been intact, the ball might have deflected up and over (a successful shot), or down and back (a failed one). That uncertainty introduces a variable that’s not the fault of either team.
Because the malfunction could have reasonably altered the outcome of the rally, I would lean toward declaring a replay. That said, this falls into a gray area, and not everyone may agree—especially in casual play. But based on the spirit of fairness and cooperation outlined in Section 1, a replay seems like the most equitable option.
Source: The PicklerAnuncie Aqui / Advertise Here
Sua marca para o mundo Pickleball! / Your brand for the Pickleball world!