By Mark Peifer, USA Pickleball Certified Referee; Past Chairman, USA Pickleball Rules Committee
QUESTION: I served the ball, but my opponent did not return the serve. She missed it. Then her partner said I had called an incorrect score, which I admitted to. Can my opponent call for a replay, citing my incorrect score call as the reason?
ANSWER: Yes. The replay should be granted. This scenario is covered by Rule 4.K. The central point of the rule is that any player may correct an incorrect score before the return of serve. Note that there was no return of serve in this case, so the conditional requirement of Rule 4.K has been satisfied. One could make a solid case that the serve was not returned because the incorrect score was called and altered the receiver’s concentration.
If the receiver knows there was a physical reason for missing the serve and not a mental reason caused by thinking about the incorrect score, then the receiver should concede the rally.
Source: The PicklerAnuncie Aqui / Advertise Here
Sua marca para o mundo Pickleball! / Your brand for the Pickleball world!
                            English                        
                            Spanish                        
                            Portuguese                        
                            German                        
                            Italian                        
                            Japanese                        
                            French                        
                            Polish                        
                            Russian                        
                            Netherlands                        
                            Hungarian                        
                            Turkish                        
                            Videos                        
 The Pickler








                        English (US)  ·       
                        Portuguese (BR)  ·